Susanne C. Adams Award

This award is dedicated as a living tribute to Susanne C. Adams, a visionary, a leader and a pioneer in mediation. This award was created in 1997 to honor Susanne, the first recipient of the award, and those who, like Susanne, set an example for the rest of the mediation community in Texas to follow.

A mediator since 1982, Susanne was active in the Texas mediation community as early as 1982. She was a founding member of TAM as well as the Greater Houston Mediation Network and the Dallas Mediation Council. She was the President of TAM from 1989 to 1990 and served on committees regarding ethics, professionalism and educational requirements for mediators. Susanne Adams died on October 11, 1997, leaving us with a legacy of inspiration and commitment to our profession.

The award is given to persons who have performed exceptional and outstanding efforts in promoting or furthering the use of mediation in Texas.

Past Recipients

Gene Roberts, Jr., 2023                        Ben DeVries, 2022
Thomas L. Hartsell and Southwest Conflict Resolution Network, 2021
Kay Elkins-Elliott, 2020
Dr. Barbara Sunderland Manousso, 2019
Melanie Grimes, 2018
John P. Palmer, 2017
Marlene Labenz-Hough, 2016
Linda Gibson, 2015
Meg Walker, 2014
Mike Amis, 2013
John Guerra, 2012
Hon. Josefina Rendon, 2011
Carol Hoffman, 2010
Walter Wright, 2009
Laury Adams, 2008
Hon. Frank Evans, 2008
Dr. James Gibson, 2007
Marie Mullineaux, 2006
Don Graul, 2006
Judy Dougherty, 2006
Gary Kirkpatrick, 2006
Judge Merrill Hartman, 2005
Bruce Stratton, 2004
Michael Schless, 2003
Maureen Peltier, 2002
Florence Kusnetz, 2001
Herbert Cooke, 2000
US Rep. Charles Gonzales, 1999
Suzanne Mann Duvall, 1998
Susanne C. Adams, 1997

Spirit of TAM Award

In recognition of its 35th year, the TAM Board created the Spirit of TAM Award. Laury Adams received the first Spirit of TAM Award due to her loyalty, generosity, guidance, professionalism, passion, and overall graciousness demonstrated time and time again during her 35 years of service to TAM.
2022 — Danette Ross Watson in recognition of her creativity, insightfulness, professionalism, commitment, and enthusiasm. Danette's innovative spirit has served both TAM and her community by creating TAM Talks and founding the West Texas Community Mediation Center.
2023 — Don Swift and Irene Zucker for their initiative, passion, diligence, professionalism, and hospitality in founding and continuing to create bi-monthly educational meetings that have greatly served the North Texas TAM community since 2016.
2024 — Mike Schless for his kindness, compassion, clever wit, and enthusiastic mentoring of hundreds, if not thousands, of mediators over his 30-plus years as a member of TAM.

Volunteer Mediator of the Year Award

The TAM Board of Directors introduced a new award in 2021 to recognize the tremendous value of volunteer mediators and the critical role they play in the Texas mediation community. The award is given annually to a mediator nominated by a Dispute Resolution Center or similar alternative dispute resolution organization in Texas.
Year Award Recipient Nominator
2024 Sylvia Burleson Tarrant County Dispute Resolution Program
2023 Gilson Riecken Bexar County Dispute Resolution Center
2022 Jim Guinn, III Brazos Valley Dispute Resolution Center
2021 Charlsie Moore Dispute Resolution Center of Montgomery County

TAM Rising Star

In 2022, TAM introduced the TAM Rising Star award to recognize a current TAM member who, even though relatively new to mediation, is already having a significant positive impact on the mediation community. A TAM Rising Star is the kind of person who "jumps in with both feet" - someone who volunteers to do whatever he or she can to help further TAM's goals and to support the wider mediation community. Nominees for this award must be within five years of having received basic mediation training and becoming a Candidate for Membership and/or Full Member of TAM.

Past Recipients

Kimble Steadman Belmonte, 2022
Sharmeen Ladhani, 2023
Varvara Lazaridis, 2024

SWCRN TAM Conference Scholarship

In 2021, the Southwest Conflict Resolution Network (SWCRN) chose TAM to receive the organization's remaining assets upon dissolution. The generous donation created the SWCRN TAM Conference Scholarship that will be award annually to new mediators based on merit and need. SWCRN had been a 501(c)(6) nonprofit professional organization dedicated to the facilitation, awareness, and advancement of dispute resolution through education, networking, and community involvement for more than 20 years serving the North Texas mediation community.
Scholarship Rules